外部沟通政策

公司代表如何与外部各方沟通

外部沟通政策

(于 2015 年 6 月 12 日正式通过)


简介

本外部沟通政策(“政策”)阐述了 Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 及其附属实体(统称为“公司”)关于公司代表如何与外部各方¹(尤指证券市场专业人士和可能持有或交易 Marvell 股票的人员)进行沟通之政策。 本政策中所用大写术语之含义,已在本文末尾“关键术语”部分予以阐明。

本政策适用于所有公司员工、董事、行政官、顾问和承包商。 任何违反本政策的行为都应提请 MSI 法律事务主管或授权发言人注意,并可能导致终止雇用。

一般政策

公司政策要求,公司与第三方的所有沟通均须遵守适用法律,对于公司的重要、非公开信息,应以非排他性和非选择性的方式公开传播。 仅授权发言人才能与第三方进行有关公司的讨论。 无其他个人被授权代表公司发言。 第三方联系的任何知情人均须将第三方转介到授权发言人处。

具体而言,除授权发言人外,任何知情人不得向第三方传达公司的重要、非公开信息。 授权发言人只能向第三方提供事先或同步公开传播的重要、非公开的信息。 此通常为向公众公开的新闻稿或电话会议。

外部资源或媒体可能会不定期联系员工,询问关于公司或其员工、董事、行政官或运营的信息。 为了避免向外部资源提供不准确、不完整或重要信息,所有关于公司或其员工、董事、行政官或运营的外部咨询,必须转介至授权发言人处。 仅授权发言人有权发表或批准与公司或其员工、董事、行政官或运营有关的公开声明。

如果知情人无意披露的信息可能为重大、非公开信息,知情人必须立即通知授权发言人,以便其可与 Marvell Semiconductor, Inc.(“MSI”)法律部门协商是否需要迅速公开传播此信息。 如有必要,须在无意披露后的 24 小时内公开传播此信息。

如授权发言人对本政策或美国联邦证券法有不确定之处,授权发言人可咨询 MSI 法律部门以确保合规。

未经公司首席执行官、总裁、首席财务官或 MSI 法律事务主管的明确事先批准,授权发言人不得违背本政策所规定之原则。

财务信息

任何知情人不得直接或间接有选择性地向第三方提供“指导方针”,也不得向第三方披露任何关于公司未来运营业绩的内部预测、业务交易、客户或供应商发展情况,或其他未通过新闻发布、向美国证券交易委员会报备或其他适当方式公开传播的重要信息。 此外,任何知情人不得对过去的指导方针进行评论,即使其已经公开传播。

静默期

公司将在当前财政季度结束前的十四 (14)² 天保持静默,并持续至公布该季度业绩报告之日。 在此期间,公司将拒绝就盈利前景或其他与公司当前或未来财务业绩相关的重要信息提供公开意见或新的指导方针。

分析师信息

除下文所述外,任何知情人不得实施以下行为:在分析师报告发表前对其进行审查,向投资者或潜在投资者发送分析师报告,对分析师的模型发表评论,提供分析师的电话号码以便他人直接联系,认可或核准分析师作出的收入或收益预测,或对“范围”或分析师如何得出估计表示肯定或异议。 授权发言人可以审查分析师报告,但仅限于确认或纠正可能包含在此类分析报告中的公开传播信息。

新闻发布

公司将不时发布新闻稿,以披露对公众重要或有用的信息。 新闻稿将根据公司的既定惯例进行编写和审查,包括视情况由公司的审计师和法律顾问进行审查。 新闻稿将由授权发言人批准并在其监督下发布。

产品和公司信息

任何知情人不得向第三方披露关于公司或其产品和服务的任何重要的、非公开的信息。

股价

任何知情人不得就公司股价如何变化、是否应买卖公司股票或是否认为股价受到或即将受到某一特定事件(即商业交易、公司新闻发布等)的影响发表评论。

竞争对手信息

任何知情人不得讨论有关竞争对手的财务或运营信息。 授权发言人应声明公司不对其竞争对手作任何评论,并建议第三方直接致电竞争对手。

授权发言人可以就竞争对手所发布业绩报告中的市场份额数字和事实进行讨论。

传闻

任何知情人不得就传闻发表评论。 授权发言人有权声明公司政策禁止对传闻发表评论。

间接沟通;聊天室;其他电子通信方式

知情人直接与第三方进行直接或间接沟通,均视为违反本政策。 任何知情人不得促成或参与涉及 Marvell 或与 Marvell 有业务往来之公司的“聊天室”或类似在线论坛,或使用其他电子通信方法(如下所述),不得因与 Marvell 或任何其他知情人之关系而获得有关 Marvell 或任何其他方的任何此类信息。 这些论坛上的帖子可能含有误导性或未经证实的信息,而且可能是由对情况知之甚少的投资者发布。 因此,任何知情人都不得在此类论坛上讨论公司或公司相关信息。 此类论坛上的帖子可能会导致重要、非公开信息的披露,并可能会使公司面临严重的法律和财务风险,因此要加以禁止。 任何使用聊天室或其他电子通信方法(包括博客或社交媒体网站)都必须严格遵守本政策、Marvell 博客政策、Marvell 社交媒体指导方针和 Marvell 一般电子通信政策。

违反本政策

除上述批准方法外,授权发言人之外的任何个人,在未经首席执行官、总裁或首席财务官明确批准的情况下,在任何论坛选择性披露重要、非公开信息,都将视为违反本政策,并可能会被视为违反美国联邦证券法。 违反本政策可能导致立即终止雇用,并可能导致美国证券交易委员会 (SEC) 针对违反者本人、公司及其行政官和董事提起民事执法诉讼。

关键术语

本政策中,以下术语含义如下:

授权发言人”是指首席执行官、总裁、首席财务官、投资者关系副总裁、企业通讯副总裁或执行类似职能的人员,或经首席执行官、总裁或首席财务官授权的就特定主题或在特定场合发言的任何其他公司员工或代表。 公司应在其外部网站上发布当前授权发言人名单,该名单可随时更新。

知情人”指公司的员工、行政官、董事、顾问或承包商。 所有受本政策约束的知情人亦须遵守公司的内部交易禁止政策和指导方针。

重要信息”: 无法定义所有类别的重要信息。 但是,如果有合理的可能性认为信息对于投资者在购买或出售公司证券相关投资作出决定至关重要,则应将其视为重要信息。

尽管根据此标准可能难以确定特定信息是否重要,但有多个类别的信息特别敏感,且一般而言应将其视为重要信息。 此类信息示例可能包括:

重大公司活动,如待决或拟议的合并、合资或投标要约、签署投资、收购或处置重大业务或资产或公司的控制权的变更

  • 财务业绩,财务状况,盈利预告、预期或预测
  • 财务业绩或重要损害、冲销或重组的重述
  • 独立审计师的变更或对某些审计报告依赖性的变更
  • 业务计划或预算
  • 重大财务义务的产生或财务义务的重大变更
  • 即将破产或金融流动性问题
  • 涉及业务关系的重大进展
  • 重要的产品/服务公告
  • 研发或与知识产权有关的重大进展
  • 重要的法律或监管新举措,无论是实际发生或似将发生
  • 涉及公司证券的重大活动
    • 重大公司活动,如待决或拟议的合并、合资或投标要约、签署投资、收购或处置重大业务或资产或公司的控制权的变更
  • 主要人事变动

积极或消极信息均可能是重要信息。

非公开信息”是指尚未公开传播的信息,而一般公众无法获得此信息。

其他电子通信方法”指博客、电子邮件消息、短信、音频消息或视频消息;社交媒体网站或网站评论;或使用软件应用(例如 LinkedIn In-mail、Google Talk 或 Facebook Messenger)嵌入式消息系统的其他通信,无论通信的浏览者是一般公众,还是被授予查看信息权利的有限的个人团体。

公开传播”指通过广泛传播的新闻或通讯社采取提交 8-K 表格,或非排他性方法(合理设计用于提供广泛公众访问权限 - 例如在会议上的通告,而公众对此通告有合理的通知,以及授权公众访问权限,无论是通过个人出席、电话或电子访问的方式接入)发布新闻稿,使信息公开。 请注意,如果信息只在公司的网站上发布,一般不被视为公开传播。

第三方”指证券市场专业人士(包括但不限于分析师、交易经纪人、投资顾问和基金经理)、现有股东或潜在股东(包括任何可能被合理认为基于重要、非公开信息进行交易的人)、记者和不受公司保密义务约束的任何其他方。

______________________________________________________

¹本政策不适用于处理法律、政府和监管机构可能要求的披露问题或法律上的其他问题。

² 静默期的开始时间已更新,以更正先前发布版本中的错误。

Company

Global Semiconductor Leadership

News and events, investor relations, careers and Marvell corporate resources.

External Communications Policy

(As adopted on August 25, 2010)

INTRODUCTION

This External Communications Policy (the "Policy") sets forth the policies of Marvell Technology Group Ltd. and its affiliated entities (collectively, the "Company") regarding how Company representatives may communicate with outside parties¹, particularly securities market professionals and those who may own or trade in our shares. Capitalized terms used in this Policy have the meanings set forth in the section entitled "Key Terms" appearing at the end of this document.

This Policy applies to all Company employees, directors, officers, consultants and contractors. Any violation of this Policy should be brought to the attention of MSI's head of legal affairs or an Authorized Spokesperson and may constitute grounds for termination of employment.

GENERAL POLICY

It is the Company's policy that all its communications with Third Parties comply with applicable law, and that Material, Non-Public Information of the Company be Publicly Disseminated in a non-exclusionary and non-selective way. Only an Authorized Spokesperson may engage in discussions about the Company with Third Parties. No other individual is authorized to speak on behalf of the Company. Any other Insider who is contacted by a Third Party must refer the Third Party to an Authorized Spokesperson.

Specifically, no Insider, other than an Authorized Spokesperson, may communicate Material, Nonpublic Information of the Company to a Third Party. An Authorized Spokesperson may only provide Material, Nonpublic Information to a Third Party if such information has been previously or is simultaneously Publicly Disseminated. This will typically be a press release or conference call that is open to the public.

Occasionally, employees may be contacted by outside sources or the media requesting information about the Company or its employees, directors or officers or operations. In order to avoid providing inaccurate, incomplete or Material Information to outside sources, all outside inquiries regarding the Company or its employees, directors or officers or operations must be referred to an Authorized Spokesperson. Only an Authorized Spokesperson is authorized to make or approve public statements pertaining to the Company or its employees, directors or officers or operations.

In the event of non-intentional disclosure by an Insider of information that might be Material, Nonpublic Information, the Insider must immediately inform an Authorized Spokesperson, who, in turn, may consult with Marvell Semiconductor, Inc.'s ("MSI") legal department as to whether prompt public dissemination of this information is required. If required, the information must be Publicly Disseminated within 24 hours of the inadvertent disclosure.

Whenever an Authorized Spokesperson is uncertain about this Policy or U.S. federal securities laws, the Authorized Spokesperson may consult with MSI's legal department to insure compliance.

An Authorized Spokesperson may not depart from the principles set forth in this Policy without the explicit prior approval of the Company's Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer or MSI's head of legal affairs.

FINANCIAL INFORMATION

No Insider may provide "guidance" to Third Parties on a selective basis, directly or indirectly, and may not disclose to Third Parties any information regarding the Company's internal projections of future operating results, business transactions, customer or supplier developments or other Material Information that has not been Publicly Disseminated, either in a press release, SEC filing or other appropriate method. Additionally, no Insider shall comment on past guidance, even though it has been Publicly Disseminated.

QUIET PERIOD

The Company will maintain a quiet period beginning fourteen (14)² days prior to the end of the current fiscal quarter and continuing through the date of the earnings announcement for that quarter. During this period, the Company will refuse to provide public comment or new guidance regarding earnings prospects or other material information relevant to the Company'scurrent or future financial results.

ANALYST INFORMATION

Except as set forth below, no Insider may review analysts' reports prior to their being published, send analysts' reports to investors or prospective investors, comment on an analyst's model, provide analysts' phone numbers for people to call them directly, endorse or ratify revenue or earnings projections made by an analyst, or express comfort or disagreement with "the range" or how the analysts arrived at their estimates. An Authorized Spokesperson may, however, review an analyst report solely for the purpose of confirming or correcting Publicly Disseminated information that may be contained in such analyst report.

PRESS RELEASES

The Company will issue press releases from time to time to disclose information that is important or of use to the public. Press releases will be prepared and reviewed in accordance with the Company's established practices, including review by the Company's auditors and counsel, if appropriate. Press releases will be approved by and issued under the supervision of an Authorized Spokesperson.

PRODUCT AND COMPANY INFORMATION

No Insider shall disclose to Third Parties any Material, Nonpublic Information regarding the Company or its products and services.

SHARE PRICE

No Insider shall comment on how the Company's share price will change over time, on whether people should buy or sell the Company's shares or whether he or she believes that the share price reacted or will react to a particular event (i.e., business transaction, Company press release, etc.).

COMPETITOR INFORMATION

No Insider shall discuss financial or operational information about competitors. An Authorized Spokesperson should say that the Company does not comment about its competitors and suggest that the Third Party call the competitor directly.

An Authorized Spokesperson may discuss market share figures and facts from competitors' earnings announcements.

RUMORS

No Insider may comment on rumors. An Authorized Spokesperson is permitted to state that the Company has a policy against commenting on rumors.

INDIRECT COMMUNICATIONS; CHAT ROOMS

Any communication that would constitute a violation of this Policy if made directly by an Insider to a Third Party shall also constitute a violation if made indirectly to a Third Party. No Insider shall contribute to or participate in "chat rooms" or similar online forums with respect to Marvell or companies engaged in business with Marvell to the extent any such information regarding Marvell or any other party is gained as a result of the Insider's relationship with Marvell or any other Insider. The posts in these forums may contain misleading or unsubstantiated information and may be made by unsophisticated investors who are poorly informed. Accordingly, no Insider may discuss the Company or Company-related information in such a forum. Posts in these forums can result in the disclosure of Material Nonpublic Information and may bring significant legal and financial risk to the Company and are therefore prohibited.

VIOLATION OF THIS POLICY

Selective disclosure of Material, Nonpublic Information in any forum other than the approved methods listed above, and by any individual other than an Authorized Spokesperson, and without the express approval of the Chief Executive Officer or Chief Financial Officer is considered a violation of this Policy and may be considered a violation of U.S. federal securities laws. A violation of this Policy may result in immediate termination of employment and, potentially, an SEC civil enforcement action against the individual offender, the Company, and its officers and directors.

KEY TERMS

As used in this Policy, the following terms have the following meanings:

"Authorized Spokesperson" means the Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer, VP of Investor Relations, VP of Corporate Communications or person(s) performing similar functions, or any other Company employee or representative who has been authorized by the Chief Executive Officer or Chief Financial Officer to speak with a Third Party with respect to a particular topic or on a particular occasion. The Company shall post on its external website the current list of Authorized Spokesperson(s), which may be updated from time to time.

"Insider" means an employee, officer, director, consultant or contractor of the Company. All Insiders subject to this Policy are also subject to the Company's Insider Trading Prohibition Policy and Guidelines.

"Material Information": It is not possible to define all categories of material information. However, information should be regarded as material if there is a reasonable likelihood that it would be considered important to an investor in making an investment decision regarding the purchase or sale of the Company's securities.

While it may be difficult under this standard to determine whether particular information is material, there are various categories of information that are particularly sensitive and, as a general rule, should always be considered material. Examples of such information may include:

  • Financial results, financial condition, earnings pre-announcements, projections or forecasts
  • Restatements of financial results or material impairments, write-offs or restructurings
  • Changes in independent auditors or changes in reliance on certain audit report
  • Business plans or budgets
  • Creation of significant financial obligations or significant changes in financial obligation
  • Impending bankruptcy or financial liquidity problems
  • Significant developments involving business relationships
  • Product/service announcements of a significant nature
  • Significant developments in research and development or relating to intellectual property
  • Significant legal or regulatory developments, whether actual or threatened
  • Major events involving the Company's securities
  • Significant corporate events, such as a pending or proposed merger, joint venture or tender offer, a significant investment, the acquisition or disposition of a significant business or asset or a change in control of the Company
  • Major personnel changes

Either positive or negative information may be material.

"Nonpublic Information" means information that has not been Publicly Disseminated and is otherwise not available to the general public.

"Publicly Disseminated" means that information has been made available through the distribution of a press release through a widely disseminated news or wire service, by filing a Form 8-K, or by another non-exclusionary method of disclosure that is reasonably designed to provide broad public access -- such as an announcement at a conference of which the public had adequate notice and to which the public was granted access, either by personal attendance, or telephonic or electronic access. Notably, information is generally not considered to be Publicly Disseminated if it has only been posted to the Company's website.

"Third Party" means securities market professionals (including, but not limited to, analysts, broker-dealers, investment advisers and fund managers), existing or prospective shareholders (including anyone who may be reasonably expected to trade on the basis of Material, Nonpublic Information), reporters and any other party who is not bound by a duty of confidentiality to the Company.

______________________________________________________

¹ This policy is not intended to address disclosures that may be required by legal, governmental and regulatory authorities or otherwise by law.

² The start of the quiet period was updated to correct an error in the prior version posted.

Media Contact

Sue Kim

Director, Corporate Communications and PR
Phone: 408-222-1942
E-mail: suekim@marvell.com

Recent News